OTOTO is a 1-hour piece for an orchestra, creating an imaginary futuristic tribe.

Composer Matan Daskal uses a sign languish inspired by "Soundpainting" which creates a hybrid between dancing and conducting, allowing a live improvisation with the musicians, converting the stage into a vibrant arena with unexpected behaviors.
As in the previous pieces of Castle in Time Orchestra, the computer player sends his tentacles and manipulates all the acoustic instruments during the concert-giving them a dynamic electronic timbre. OTOTO contains extraordinary virtuosity solos which bring out the individual players, alongside mass group moments of a wide and big orchestral color. The piece is breaking down the word OTOTO, as it sounds and as it's written: The "O" represents long times, the breath, the open space. The "T" represents short times, the groove, and repeated rhythmic events.
The concert will be followed by a Q&A with the artists.
Conductor: Matan Daskal | Voice and Electronics: Ohad Fishof | Synths: Yonatan Daskal | Percussion: Shalev Ne’eman | Drum Set: Haggai Fershtman | Electric Guitar: Yeonathan Shachar | Harp: Ada Regimov | Violin: Benedikt Bindewald | Cello: Shani Bar | Trumpet: Roy Zuzovsky | Trombone: Yaron Ozana | Flute: Rachel Mazor | Computer: Asaf Meidan | Technical Director: Maor Paz | Graphic Design: Dar Laor | Producer: Daniel Ring | Manager: Tal Donner | International Communication: Katherina Vasiliadis

תאריך ושעה

Jan 05, 2023, 09:00 PM
Jan 05, 2023, 11:00 PM
Times in UTC+2

הוספה ליומן


Weizmann Institution, The Michael Sela Auditorium
Rehovot, ישראל

Appearing artists